

sioux falls school district 1871 - 2011

PROUDLY REFLECTING ON OUR PAST...EAGERLY EMBRACING OUR FUTURI



A THIS SCHOOL DISTRICT

Out Falls, South Dat

Chronology 1871 - 2011

1871 - School District #1, encompassing all of Township 101, was established July 3.

1873 - A town meeting for the purpose of electing school board officers was held April 29. Clara Ledyard taught the first public school, a three month term, in a rented room in Libby's Hall near 8th and Main. The city's first schoolhouse was completed December 5. **1879** - East (Whittier). A frame schoolhouse was built at Fifth and Franklin to serve students living east of the Sioux River. Sioux Falls was organized as an independent school district under the control of a Board of Education. L.D. Henry was the district's first high school principal. Henry DeLong was hired as the district's first full-time custodian. **1885** - Longfellow. The city's four existing schools were officially named after American authors - the central school, Irving; north school, Hawthorne; east school, Whittier; southeast school, Longfellow.

1889 - Lincoln Elementary, Riverside (Laura B. Anderson), and Linwood. Linwood became part of the Sioux Falls school district in 1965 and closed in 1973.



1878 - Central (Irving). The eight-room structure was built on the block where Washington High now stands.

1883 - Whittier and Hawthorne. Sutton E. Young was the district's first superintendent of schools. The first elementary school principals were named -Mila Tupper at the North School and Louisa Kinney at the East School. Etta McCormack and Kittie Warner were Sioux Falls' first high school graduates. Dakota Territory passed a compulsory education act. 1891 - Lowell.

1892 - Meredith. The school was closed and reopened several times in its 35-year history. It waspermanently closed in 1932.

1893 - Women won the right to vote in school board elections.

1895 - The school district rented the St. Rose's Academy building at 11th and Spring for high school classes. **1901** - The high school building at 11th and Spring was renamed McKinley High.

1904 - The morning sessions of first grade at Hawthorne and Whittier were devoted to kindergarten work. The board approved having underage or immature students attend the half-day morning sessions. **1915** - Bancroft. The Washington High Domestic Science Department began preparing and selling hot noon lunches for faculty and students. Instructor Elizabeth Whittaker hired as a helper Eva Stanley - the district's first food service worker.

1916 - The first school nurse, Nell Peterson, was hired.

1920 - Mark Twain.

1932 - One of the state's first Boy Patrols was organized at Lowell. A Girls Patrol was started the next year.

1937 - The new Irving building was completed in December.

1944 - South Sioux at 41st and Norton. The school became part of the Sioux Falls School District in 1956 and was converted to a special education school in 1981.

1947 - The Airbase School. Closed in 1955.



1908 - Washington High School. Lucretia Robinson was hired as the district's first office secretary to assist Superintendent A.A. McDonald. **1921** - General Beadle. Closed as an elementary school in 1972.

1923 - Franklin, Emerson, and Lewis Heights. Emerson became a special education school in 1974. Lewis Heights was closed in 1932. Hawthorne and Whittier were both rebuilt in 1923. 1949 - Jefferson.

1952 - Eugene Field, Garfield, and Bryant. Bryant closed in 1970.

1953 - Horace Mann and Hayward. The Hayward school built in 1953 became part of the Sioux Falls School District in 1970. The school was closed in 1986, rebuilt at a new site and reopened in 1988.

1954 - Edison opened as a grade school and converted to a junior high in 1956.

1955 - Jane Addams.

1956 - Laura Wilder and Axtell Park. The city opened four junior high schools - Whittier, Edison, Axtell Park, and Patrick Henry. Patrick students attended classes at Washington High School until Patrick Henry was completed in 1958. **1965** - Robert Frost and Lincoln Senior High. Irving housed the district's special education classrooms.

1966 - Renberg. The school became part of the Sioux Falls School District in 1971.

1968 - Southeast Vocational Technical Institute.

1974 - Harvey Dunn. Irving became an Alternative School. Emerson became a special education center.

1980 - Oscar Howe.

1985 Hawthorne was reconstructed at the original site.

1987 - John F. Kennedy.

1988 - Hayward School reopened at its new location.



1957 - Cleveland.

1958 - Patrick Henry.

1962 - Sarah Nichols was named first elementary assistant principal at Cleveland School.

1963 - The school board departed from a long-standing tradition - naming schools after presidents or authors - to rename Riverside in honor of former principal, Laura B. Anderson.

1970 - A cold lunch program was started in the elementary schools. Price per meal: 25 cents

1972 - Hot lunches became available at all elementary schools. Special education programs were started at General Beadle. **1989** - South Dakota celebrated 100 years of statehood.

1991 - Roosevelt and John Harris. As the city of Sioux Falls began sprawling west, it became apparent to school leaders in the late 1980s that the city needed another high school. Students were welcomed to a brand new state of the art building in August of 1991. 1994 - Anne Sullivan.

1995 - Memorial opened in August 1995. It was named for eight distinguished South Dakota citizens who lost their lives in an airplane crash on April 20, 1993 while returning from a trip to lobby for jobs at the meatpacking plant in Sioux Falls. 2004 - Discovery Elementary.

2007 - Rosa Parks opened the fall of 2007 with two unique programs; Spanish Immersion and Global Studies. The Spanish Immersion program is for English speaking students who learn Spanish through total immersion into the language. The Global Studies program teaches students about other countries, and students receive 15 minutes of Spanish instruction a day. **2010** - New Technology High opened in August of 2010. It is a project based learning school that teaches exploration and inquiry while students engage in smaller learning communities to master all South Dakota graduation requirements.



1998 - Terry Redlin. Originally the site for Bancroft Elementary, the school was completely torn down. A new school was built in its place and renamed for South Dakota artist Terry Redlin.

1999 - Joe Foss. Originally Franklin Elementary; in 1999 the school was remodeled to house the alternative high school.

2009 - Pettigrew opened on August 17, 2009. R.F. Pettigrew is a 4-section K-5 school and is an Early Childhood site. The school was named after R.F. Pettigrew, who was a successful Sioux Falls businessman, politician and community leader. He was a member of Sioux Falls' first School Board in 1873.

2010 - Career and Technical Education Academy. The CTE Academy opened August of 2010, and allows students to take advanced courses in a variety of career and technical fields. CTE Academy is open to all high school students in the district, as well as surrounding school districts.

2011 - The Sioux Falls School District celebrates 140 years!



201 East 38th Street Sioux Falls, SD 57105 www.sf.k12.sd.us 605.367.7900